jump to navigation

Clarity occurs at the nth hour May 28, 2008

Posted by javafoo in general programming, javanotes, OOAD, technical design.
trackback

So I have been trying to put together a design approach document for over a week. I have been struggling to articulate a difficult design concept. I was afraid it was getting too wordsy as it was running over 3 pages. With a mixed audience for the design review, it had to be crisp and not appear as rambling forever. I drafted and re-drafted over the week and knew that with an audience with an attention span of a 2 year old (or is it a 4 year old), I couldn’t get across what I was trying to say.

But with two hours to the meeting, clarity struck. I was replacing paragraphs with patterns, words were just flowing and I had it reduced to 1 page, bullet pointed and all with space to spare. The meeting did actually go well and people got what I was trying to say.  It’s funny how clarity always strikes at the nth hour. Just as the Zen master said.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

